Special Exhibition on Qun Bi Lou Collection
21.0 x 29.7 cm
Deng Bangshu, courtesy name Xiaoxian, sobriquet Zhengan and Qunbiweng, received his jinshi title in 1898. In 1901 he became a staff of Duan Fang (1861-1911), whose abundant collection at his library inspired Deng’s appreciation to rare books. Deng then started his acquisition in 1904, at when he named his studio Shuang Ou Ju. Two years later, Deng bought his first two Song prints, Qun Yu Ji and Bi Yun Ji. He then took one character from each book title, changed the studio name to Qun Bi Lou. Falling into financial destitute in 1927, Deng had no choice but to sell off the collections in Qun Bi Lou, and his studio was again renamed as Han Shou Shan Fang.
This exhibition is divided into 12 sections, namely: 1. Deng Bangshu Collection, 2. Qun Bi Lou, San Li An, Pi Yu Yun Zhai, 3. Journey to the Library, 4. Song Block-printed Editions, 5. Yuan Block-printed Editions, 6. Ming Block-printed Editions, 7. Jiajing Block-printed Editions, 8. Manuscripts, 9. Hand-copied Editions, 10. Siku Editions, 11. Handwritten Colophons, 12. Connoisseurship and Collection Seals. Through the showcased items, readers will be able to fully understand the history of Deng Bangshu’s collection, as well as how rare books are appreciated and passed down through time.
Price NTD 500